skip to content

Department of History and Philosophy of Science


The Department provides training in philosophy of science at every level.

Our undergraduate programmes (Part II and Part III) and MPhil courses allow students to specialise in philosophy of science, or to learn some philosophy of science as a complement to studies in science, medicine, or history of science. For more information on courses, see undergraduate study and postgraduate study.

We offer PhD supervision in a wide range of areas in philosophy of science. Interested students should make preliminary inquiries with potential supervisors (see People). See also funding for postgraduate students.

Alumni of MPhil or PhD programmes, now with permanent academic employment

Please contact David Thompson to suggest corrections to this list.

  • Jonathan Birch, London School of Economics
  • Angela Breitenbach, University of Cambridge
  • Alex Broadbent, University of Johannesburg
  • Joanna Burch-Brown, University of Bristol
  • Anjan Chakravartty, University of Miami
  • Yoon Choi, Marquette University
  • Rachel Cooper, Lancaster University
  • Axel Gelfert, Technical University of Berlin
  • Sacha Golob, King’s College London
  • Anandi Hattiangadi, Stockholm University
  • Stephen John, Cambridge
  • Elselijn Kingma, University of Southampton
  • Katharina Kraus, University of Notre Dame
  • Tim Lewens, Cambridge
  • Emily McTernan, University College London
  • Michael Michael, Yonsei University
  • Sasha Mudd, University of Southampton
  • Arianne Shahvisi, Brighton & Sussex Medical School
  • Jeffrey Skopek, Cambridge
  • Mark Sprevak, University of Edinburgh
  • Kathryn Tabb, Bard College
  • Nicholas Teh, University of Notre Dame
  • Adam Toon, University of Exeter
  • Nick Tosh, NUI Galway
  • Joerg Tuske, Salisbury University
  • Joeri Witteveen, University of Copenhagen
  • Christian Wuthrich, University of Geneva
  • Lena Zuchowski, University of Bristol