skip to content
 

Reading Group

Introduction to Seminar Theme: Encoded Behaviour
Wednesday 20 May 2020, 16:00–18:00 BST

Introduction to Seminar Theme: Hidden Labour (Part I)
Wednesday 17 June 2020, 15:00–17:00 BST

Introduction to Seminar Theme: Cognitive Injustice
Wednesday 15 July 2020, 15:00–17:00 BST

Introduction to Seminar Theme: Disingenuous Rhetoric
Wednesday 19 August 2020, 15:00–17:00 BST

Discussion of Seminar Theme: Hidden Labour (Part II)
Wednesday 16 September 2020, 15:00–17:00 BST

Machinic Excitement and Anxiety in the Nineteenth Century
Wednesday 21 October 2020, 15:00–17:00 BST

On Turing and Learning Machines
Wednesday 18 November 2020, 15:00–17:00 GMT

Scientific Management, Statistics, and the Instruments of Thought
Wednesday 16 December 2020, 15:00–17:00 GMT

AI and Knowledge
Wednesday 20 January 2021, 15:00–17:00 GMT

Reading Group #10
Wednesday 17 February 2021, 15:00–17:00 GMT
Discussion of texts by HoAI Summer School keynote speaker, Prof. Kalindi Vora (University of California Davis)

Reading Group #11
Wednesday 17 March 2021, 15:00–17:00 GMT
Discussion of texts by HoAI Summer School keynote speaker, Prof. Ruja Benjamin (Princeton University)

Reading Group #12
Wednesday 21 April 2021, 15:00–17:00 BST
Discussion of texts by HoAI Summer School keynote speaker, Prof. Ulises A. Mejias (SUNY Oswego)

Reading Group #13
Wednesday 19 May 2021, 15:00–17:00 BST
Discussion of texts by HoAI Summer School keynote speaker, Prof. Wendy Chun (Simon Fraser University)

Reading Group #14
Wednesday 16 June 2021, 15:00–17:00 BST
Community session on findings from monthly Reading Group sessions in anticipation of HoAI Summer School

Methods and Critical Issues Training

AI and Gender Studies
Wednesday 27 May 2020, 16:00–18:00 BST

History, Policy, Designing AI
Friday 24 July 2020, 15:00–17:00 BST

Doing Genealogy: Knowledge, Power, AI
Wednesday 26 August 2020, 15:00–17:00 BST

Historical Methods
Wednesday 23 September 2020, 15:00–17:00 BST

A Feeling for the (Neural) Organism: An Interactive History of Connectionism
Wednesday 28 October 2020, 15:00–17:00 GMT

Histories of AI and Asia: A Discussion
Friday 27 November 2020, 13:00–15:00 GMT

Racial Capitalism and Computing Technology
Friday 18 December 2020, 15:00–17:00 GMT

Critical Theory and Quantification
Wednesday 20 January 2021, 15:00–17:00 GMT

Community Research Seminar

Informal 'Meet and Greet'
Wednesday 24 June 2020, 15:00–17:00 BST

Practices of Re-presentation: Zines, Visualizations & Outreach
Friday 28 August 2020, 15:00–17:00 BST

AI and Music
Friday 20 November 2020, 15:00–17:00 GMT

AI Development Across Borders
Monday 21 December 2020, 15:00–17:00 GMT