skip to primary navigationskip to content
 

Seminar Virtual Events

Reading Group

Introduction to Seminar Theme: Encoded Behaviour
Wednesday 20 May 2020, 16:00–18:00 BST

Introduction to Seminar Theme: Hidden Labour (Part I)
Wednesday 17 June 2020, 15:00–17:00 BST

Introduction to Seminar Theme: Cognitive Injustice
Wednesday 15 July 2020, 15:00–17:00 BST

Introduction to Seminar Theme: Disingenuous Rhetoric
Wednesday 19 August 2020, 15:00–17:00 BST

Discussion of Seminar Theme: Hidden Labour (Part II)
Wednesday 16 September 2020, 15:00–17:00 BST
Details to be announced
Co-facilitated by Prof. Lilly Irani (University of California San Diego)

Reading Group #6
Wednesday 21 October 2020, 15:00–17:00 BST
Details to be announced
Convened by Matthew L. Jones (Columbia University)

Reading Group #7
Wednesday 18 November 2020, 15:00–17:00 GMT
Details to be announced
Convened by Richard Staley (University of Cambridge), Sarah Dillon (University of Cambridge)

Reading Group #8
Wednesday 16 December 2020, 15:00–17:00 GMT
Details to be announced
Convened by Jonnie Penn (University of Cambridge)

Reading Group #9
Wednesday 20 January 2021, 15:00–17:00 GMT
Details to be announced
Convened by Stephanie Dick (University of Pennsylvania)

Reading Group #10
Wednesday 17 February 2021, 15:00–17:00 GMT
Discussion of texts by HoAI Summer School keynote speaker, Prof. Kalindi Vora (University of California Davis)

Reading Group #11
Wednesday 17 March 2021, 15:00–17:00 GMT
Discussion of texts by HoAI Summer School keynote speaker, Prof. Ruja Benjamin (Princeton University)

Reading Group #12
Wednesday 21 April 2021, 15:00–17:00 BST
Discussion of texts by HoAI Summer School keynote speaker, Prof. Ulises A. Mejias (SUNY Oswego)

Reading Group #13
Wednesday 19 May 2021, 15:00–17:00 BST
Discussion of texts by HoAI Summer School keynote speaker, Prof. Wendy Chun (Simon Fraser University)

Reading Group #14
Wednesday 16 June 2021, 15:00–17:00 BST
Community session on findings from monthly Reading Group sessions in anticipation of HoAI Summer School

Methods and Critical Issues Training

AI and Gender Studies
Wednesday 27 May 2020, 16:00–18:00 BST

History, Policy, Designing AI
Friday 24 July 2020, 15:00–17:00 BST

Doing Genealogy: Knowledge, Power, AI
Wednesday 26 August 2020, 15:00–17:00 BST

Historical Methods
Wednesday 23 September 2020, 15:00–17:00 BST
Details to be announced
Co-facilitated by Stephanie Dick (University of Pennsylvania)

A Feel for the Organism – A Brief History of Connectionism and Training on How to Code
Wednesday 28 October 2020, 15:00–17:00 GMT
Details to be announced
Co-facilitated by Michael Castelle (University of Warwick)

Community Research Seminar

Informal 'Meet and Greet'
Wednesday 24 June 2020, 15:00–17:00 BST

Practices of Re-presentation: Zines, Visualizations & Outreach
Friday 28 August 2020, 15:00–17:00 BST